Algorithm and Model Selection for CF-based Recommenders Optimized for a VOD Platform

    |    Friday September 28th, 2018

The following tech blog article is part of a series of detailed tech explanations of a recommender system built together by realeyz (EYZ Media GmbH) and DAI-Labor (TU Berlin). The tech blog functions as a knowledge base and exchange about technical solutions supporting transnational marketing, branding and distribution of European audiovisual works on VOD services. 

Continue Reading →

Event-based Approach – Introducing External Social Resource into the Recommender

    |    Tuesday September 4th, 2018

The following tech blog article is part of a series of detailed tech explanations of a recommender system built together by realeyz (EYZ Media GmbH) and DAI-Labor (TU Berlin). The tech blog functions as a knowledge base and exchange about technical solutions supporting transnational marketing, branding and distribution of European audiovisual works on VOD services. 

Continue Reading →

Elasticsearch: a flexible plugin makes meta-data better used in recommenders

    |    Friday August 24th, 2018

The following tech blog article is part of a series of detailed tech explanations of a recommender system built together by realeyz (EYZ Media GmbH) and DAI-Labor (TU Berlin). The tech blog functions as a knowledge base and exchange about technical solutions supporting transnational marketing, branding and distribution of European audiovisual works on VOD services. 

Continue Reading →

EYZ Media research: cooperation with DAI-Labor TU Berlin

    |    Tuesday August 14th, 2018

Recommender systems have proven effective to help the audience of streaming platforms finding relevant movies and serials hidden in huge amount of available content. The question is how can the audience be assisted in finding the most interesting movies matching the individual user preferences. Popular platforms, like Netflix, Pandora, and Amazon successfully provide recommender systems. 

Continue Reading →

Has the end of Video-on-Demand been heralded long ago?

    |    Wednesday February 28th, 2018

Amazon recently announced (strategically shortly before the press conference for Netflix’s quarterly results) that its own video streaming offering Prime Video will be terminable on a monthly basis and will be offered at a symbolic price of one dollar less than its competitor, independent of Amazon Prime’s overall offering. The offer is valid only in 

Continue Reading →

All collected, not knowing anything: Why a data strategy is important in digital marketing

    |    Friday February 2nd, 2018

Digitisation hooray! Cloud computing, automation and big data. Everyone participates and everyone has heard that data is the most valuable raw material of the information age. However, the market is still in its infancy when it comes to the optimal use of data, as most companies still lack a professional data strategy. Thus the premise 

Continue Reading →

Event-basierte Empfehlungsansätze – Berechnen von Empfehlungen durch die Analyse externer Social-Media Ressourcen

    |    Tuesday, der 4. September 2018

Der folgende Text ist der dritte Teil einer Serie von Tech-Blog Artikeln, die die Entwicklung eines Empfehlungssystems (Recommender Systems) beschreiben, das im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit zwischen der EYZ Media GmbH (realeyz) und dem DAI-Labor (TU-Berlin) realisiert wurde. Standard-Empfehlungs-Ansätze, wie Content-basierte und kollaborative Algorithmen, basieren auf der Analyse des Nutzerverhaltens bzw. Inhaltlicher Ähnlichkeiten zwischen Items. So 

Continue Reading →

Elasticsearch: ein flexibles Plugin macht Metadaten in Empfehlungssystemen besser nutzbar

    |    Friday, der 24. August 2018

Der folgende Text ist der zweite Teil einer Serie von Tech-Blog Artikeln, die die Entwicklung eines Empfehlungssystems (Recommender Systems) beschreiben, das im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit zwischen der EYZ Media GmbH und dem DAI-Labor (TU-Berlin) realisiert wurde. Diese Blog-Serie dient dazu, Wissen und Erfahrungen über technische Lösungen auszutauschen sowie das transnationale Marketing, die Markenbildung und den 

Continue Reading →

EYZ Media erforscht Empfehlungsalgorithmen in Kooperation mit dem DAI-Labor TU Berlin

    |    Tuesday, der 14. August 2018

Empfehlungssysteme sind effektive Hilfsmittel um dem Nutzer beim Finden von relevanten Filmen auf Video-Portalen und Streaming-Plattformen zu unterstützen. Die Systeme analysieren dazu das Verhalten des Benutzers, ermitteln implizite Präferenzen und berechnen Empfehlungen, die zu den Vorlieben des Nutzers passen. Populäre Plattformen, wie Netflix, Pandora und Amazon, bieten erfolgreich Empfehlungssysteme an, die vorrangig die Bewertungen und 

Continue Reading →

Ist der Untergang von Video-on-Demand längst eingeläutet?

    |    Wednesday, der 28. February 2018

Kürzlich gab Amazon bekannt (und zwar strategisch kurz vor der Pressekonferenz für die Quartalsergebnisse von Netflix), das eigene Videostreaming-Angebot Prime Video künftig monatlich kündbar und losgelöst vom Amazon-Prime-Gesamtangebot zum symbolischen Preis von einem Dollar weniger als der Konkurrent anzubieten. Das Angebot gilt zuerst in den USA. Amazon sieht Netflix durch den Wegfall vieler Filmpakete (das 

Continue Reading →

Alles gesammelt, von nichts gewusst: Warum eine Datenstrategie im Digital Marketing wichtig ist

    |    Friday, der 2. February 2018

Digitalisierung hurra! Cloud Computing, Automatisierung und Big Data. Alle machen mit und jeder hat schon mal davon gehört, dass Daten der wertvollste Rohstoff des Informationszeitalters seien. Doch bei der optimalen Nutzung von Daten steht der Markt noch ganz am Anfang, denn den meisten Unternehmen mangelt es nach wie vor an einer professionellen Datenstrategie. So gilt 

Continue Reading →